Firm History

Print This Page

The firm has a long and rich history serving clients in North Carolina dating back to 1899 when Robert Ruark of Wilmington was admitted to the bar and began practicing law at the young age of 21. Twenty-seven years later, he was joined by his son, Samuel Westbrook Ruark, and Ruark and Ruark was formed. The firm later grew to include Robert’s son-in-law Joseph C. Moore.

In 1950, Charles H. Young joined the firm after his law partner of 14 years, Carroll W. Weathers, Sr., was named the Dean of the Wake Forest University School of Law.  Samuel Ruark passed away in 1953, and shortly after, BT Henderson II joined the firm. In 1954, the firm became Young Moore and Henderson.

The firm also has a long legacy of leadership in the state and local bars, and has been repeatedly recognized for outstanding legal skills and services to its clients.  For example, Joseph C. Moore served as President of the North Carolina Bar Association, Charles H. Young served as President of the North Carolina State Bar, and six members of the firm have served as President of the Wake County Bar Association:  Robert Ruark (1938), Carroll W. Weathers (1943), Charles H. Young (1962), B.T. Henderson, II (1980), Walter E. Brock, Jr. (1998) and Brian O. Beverly (2015).

Electronic mail or other oral or written communication to Young Moore and Henderson P.A. in connection with a matter for which we do not already represent you may not be treated as privileged or confidential. Communications are not privileged until the client and lawyer have agreed on legal representation. Please do not send confidential information to us via e-mail or in any other manner without first communicating directly with us about the attorney-client relationship. The transmission of an e-mail request for information does not create an attorney-client relationship. Your initial email should only contain a list of the parties interested in the matter so that we can make sure we have no conflicts before you convey any information about your case.

Accept Decline